• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Zay Zay Zaw

OpenGL MouseEvent Drawing 2D Primitive Objects

This topic is 2739 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello Guys,

I need some help in developing with OpenGL for using with mouse to draw 2D primitives object. Honestly speaking, yes, it is for my School Project and this is my first time using to OpenGL software but i got some background knowledge of C++ . The purpose is that I'll be able to draw those primitives, rotate them and translate them, including different mode, which are selection mode and drawing mode. And the program should be able to delete for the selected object.

The problem i am having is to track the mouse coordinate to draw either the line, square, or circle with the mouse event. Can say so that i am lack in coming out with those formula and another thing is to assign with Keyboard. I have attached my Program for your reference and those area in program with "missing" mean i don't know what to do. All in all, if i were to summarize to make it clear;

Drawing 2D Primitive Objects
The choice of primitive to be drawn is done using the keyboard (letter ‘l’=line, ‘c’=circle, ‘r’=rectangle) or via a menu.

Mouse left button control
[Draw Mode]
The program should draw the selected primitive type when the user press the left mouse button.
The object’s size changes according to the mouse position while the left mouse button remains pressed.
When the left-button is released, the object is confirmed and finalized.

[Selection Mode]