Sign in to follow this  
randyeich

Development Using C#

Hi folks, my first gamedev related topic here.

Ok, basically I've just recently began learning programming. I chose C# as my first language to learn based on several different things, leading of which is I'd like to focus on software development for Windows. There are many developer positions for C# here in my city. A lot more than Java, and there are virtually 0 C++ positions available. It was more of a toss up between Java and C#, so I looked at both a little and decided C# was better for me. In my opinion based on a lot of reading I've been doing I think C++ may be on it's way out, at least for software (non gaming). Definitely is not needed here at least.

I've been playing around with C# for a couple months now. I'm also working on a piece of software I will be using as my own business' initial launch program. It's a niche based one, not too terribly hard coding wise, and is business oriented, and I actually have several vendors for my niche that have already agreed to place it in their shops.

I'm sure you're wondering, why if I want to focus on software, am I here? Well, I would also like to get my feet wet pretty deeply in game development. I want to develop games as well. Not my primary thing, but I would like to have good enough knowledge over the next few years so I could develop a decent game. I also want to have enough knowledge because with my company I plan on having it branch to have a game development team as well (not huge of course, maybe 2 or 3 people). Now this is all dependent on how the business app end is going for me. I have a business plan already written out (it's about 10 pages at the moment not counting market research and competition).

What I'm here to ask right now is, where should I go to get started for game development using C#, such as game engine (preferably written in C# if there are any free ones available).