Sign in to follow this  

Java Question: How do you do Hot Code Replace while debugging an application?

This topic is 2485 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Rewatching Ludum Dare livestreams of Java developers a lot of times, and trying to think up the method combination used to create the illusion of actually debugging an application and seeing different changes instantly, is pretty much what I've been doing for the past 2 months.

I think I have the concept down on a sheet of paper:

1. Type the code you want in Eclipse IDE.
2. Make sure you put a breakpoint in some lines where you want to make changes visually (for more on-the-spot debugging and visually controlling the elements and objects in the application you are debugging).
3. Debug the application.
4. When you hit the breakpoint, see if it is visually correct. (As in, see if the height of a cube is suppose to be accurate enough).
5. If not accurate enough, do [color="#ffa500"]"Hot Code Replace"[/color], something I didn't really see how it works in Eclipse.
6. [color="#2e8b57"]//DO SOME MAGIC HERE.[/color]
7. [color="#ff0000"]Repeat 4 through 7, if it's still not visually correct.[/color]
8. [color="#2e8b57"]//PROFIT!![/color]

What is the magic in Eclipse that I don't know of? :( I'm really looking forward to this. Where can I get the answer to this "debugging feature in Eclipse"?

And supposely, how do you visually see the changes you did in your code in a game application when debugging? Line by line execution is what I meant, in short.

UPDATE : Example Video:

Link to LiveStream: [b]http://tinyurl.com/4c8u9x5
[/b]Go to the timeframe 52:56. Watch how the developer instantly changes the object visually.