• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tedted

Level Design

This topic is 2657 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering how is it possible to make walkable areas above another walkable area, like a second floor on the same map. I was looking into heightmap as a means of making my level but I dont think it is capable of creating such a feature. Its going to be my first game, so I'm fairly new to this. I'm starting with level design before anything else so that the game world will be complete by the time I try to make my characters move around in it. If any of you can point me to the right direction on how I can tackle this I will be greatly thankful.

Thanks and Regards,
Ted

Advertisement
It really depends on your project.

Is your game 2D or 3D? If 2D, is it tile-based or plain pictures with a walk mesh?

It really depends on your project.

Is your game 2D or 3D? If 2D, is it tile-based or plain pictures with a walk mesh?

Ahh Sorry for not being specific. I was planning to build a 3D world where a hero can go walking around exploring. I was thinking of using separate models in addition to a heightmap to construct my scene but it doesnt really answer how to make 2nd floors. Imagine walking in a canyon and above you are rock bridges where enemies are waiting to jump and ambush you. How do I make those rock bridges?

Thanks,
Ted

Typically that type of level geometry would be created in a modeling program or a dedicated level editor.