• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
pablo_ivan57

Starting Mobile game development

This topic is 2831 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I'm trying to get started on the mobile game development world, I have developed iPhone and Android applications using their respective SDKs, so I'm quite confortable with both java and Objective-C. But I really want to develop more 3d based apps and games on both platforms, that's why I have been checking some books on 3D programming for the iPhone. However I'm quite lost, since I have never done game programming before I found myself confused with basic concepts (I think...) like game loops, rendering pipeline, physics, etc. Also since I don't know well a 3d modeling tool(well..Blender a little bit) I found nearly impossible to implement a game the way it's shown on these books.... using basically just vertexes on static structures. So that's why I wanted to ask you wich tools should I focus learning to start being productive.
Basically what I was told is to focus on learning a 3d modeling tool, I have posibilities on using 3D Studio Max so I think that I start with this one...or I should better stick with Blender since it's openSource and there are a lot of resources for iOS using it.

Well next I wanted to ask you If you think I should learn a game engine.... thinking about Unity 3D since it's popular (not so expensive) and could find lots of resources to learn quick. Of course there are other game engines like Sio2 for iOS or Torque3D that I'm considering too.