Sign in to follow this  
capone888

Cross Platform option comparable to VB.Net?

capone888    122
Hi everyone,

Yes, it is another 'which platform should I use', discussion. However, I have done my homework and viewed the Beginner's FAQ, but I would still rather rely on the forum's experience.

First off, I am a hobbyist. I have experience with VB.NET and enjoy it. I like the fact that I can create desktop applications with easy by simply dropping in different elements (command boxes, text boxes, etc.) and simply dragging them around to resize them and whatnot. What I don't like about VB.NET is that it is not cross-platform. So basically I am looking for something very similar to VB.NET, but the apps I create can be easily used on Windows or MAC.

I looked in to RealBasic, but that was too expesive (I think it was like $299.00 for only 6 months at the standard level). I like free (such as VS.NET Express Ed.) or something that will not cost an arm and a leg for a hobbyist.

So for the project I am working on, it is very basic. I want to create the infamous text-based RPG. I am not looking to sell it, or even distribute it. I am a hobbyist and I just want to create it for rmyself. Of course, if I finish it I would post it to a website and freely distribute it to anyone who would want it.

Now, I don't want a command-line text-based game. It will have a GUI with a text box in the middle for the user to type in commands as well as where the story will unfold. However, there will be static graphics and maps used (no moving parts); as well as health bars, inventory screens with images to show weps, gold, etc. I would also like drop down menus to help the user build the command they are to enter (i.e. 'Put', 'Take', 'Search' / 'Chair', 'Door', 'Key').