Sign in to follow this  
Brikwarrior

How to make a game look great.

Brikwarrior    100
Hi all, been stressing out over this for a while.

I'm a designer and a programmer. I design games and program them.

I'm NOT an artist, so an artist would be paid to produce artwork for my games.

The problem: I don't know how to get someone to produce amazing artwork so my game looks professional.

Is it just a matter of finding the right artist with magical attention to detail, or is there some kind of workflow that I should follow that can help even regular artists put out amazing work? How many artists do I really need, and what should their skills be?

I've tried hiring an "art director/concept artist" type guy to visualize my game's look, but he did a pretty terrible job, pretty much just looked like something I would throw together in photoshop (my game is an action puzzler). So now I have no usable concept art and I'm back to where I started.

Basically I just don't even know where to start when it comes to artwork anymore. What would you do? Would appreciate some advice!

GninjaGnome    184
Try browsing Deviant Art. If you find an artist you like, send them an email. Or maybe you could try tweaking your game design to fit it into whatever style artist you find.

Brikwarrior    100
[quote name='GninjaGnome' timestamp='1302576468' post='4797358']
Try browsing Deviant Art. If you find an artist you like, send them an email. Or maybe you could try tweaking your game design to fit it into whatever style artist you find.
[/quote]

The problem isn't really finding an artist though, there's lots of talented artists out there.

I guess the question is how do I direct artists effectively to get the results I want?

Hodgman    51324