Sign in to follow this  
PropheticEdge

Seeking advice on where to beef up my software engineering skills

A bit of background.

Almost a year ago, I graduated from Georgia Tech with a degree in Computational Media. You'll notice that's not computer science. It's actually a hybrid CS/Design degree. The spirit and intent of the program to create people who can code, but also have a grounding in designing "digital media artifacts"; art, UI, usability, aesthetics, and the "meaning" behind things. Many of my friends jokingly referred to the major as "CS For Poets."

"But why oh why didn't you get get a CS degree!?"

Well, I didn't know any better. Back when I was in highschool I'd heard about the degree program (it had juuuuust begun, mine was the first Freshmen class you could declare it as a major). It was described as being a degree highly applicable for video game development by both peers and the counselors at Tech. Since I loved game design and really wanted to learn how to program, it sounded absolutely perfect. I went to school, took classes, dd my work and graduated with a good GPA. Then I discovered that the video game industry wasn't what I'd thought it was, it was a lot harder to get into than I'd anticipated. Not only that, but my education has some pretty serious gaps in it in terms of CS theory and software engineering. That's no good! I think if I can fill those gaps, however, I will become an incredibly strong candidate given the very nifty design portion of the degree.