Sign in to follow this  
vidhvat

Unity How Do RPGs Handle Conversation

vidhvat    169
I've been thinking about RPG's and I wonder how game developers handle a conversation system in their games.
Excuse me if I sound a bit silly here, but If I was to use a game engine like Unity, would I be scripting the whole thing, or do developers have dedicated system that they implement which help them code-in the conversations easily?

I've never tried my hand at an RPG before, this might be too much to ask for, but I was wondering what kind of a data structure does one set up for handling conversations between characters. Maybe it would require a complex state machine of sorts, I don't know.

I'd love to have some light thrown on the subject! Thanks!

matt3d    137
I've dabbled in it in the past. I was always looking to make a dialog in the style of Black Isle/Bioware/Bethesda RPGs. So the dialogs have to be represented as a data tree. One way to do this is to implement SQLite for data storage, another is to just store the data in XML. I'd recommend the latter. You also will need a way to allow script/engine callbacks from dialog choices. For instance, choosing a particular dialog might cause someone to attack the player, receive an item or change reputation.

Have a look at Neverwinter Nights or Dragon Age's conversation editor and look at how they do it.

[img]http://www.korbavarn.de/news/wp-content/gallery/toolset/conversationeditor.png[/img]

ApochPiQ    23064
This depends on the game design, really; but typically you use some form of tree or directed graph (depending on whether or not you want to allow repeating dialog segments). Usually it is very data driven, so explicitly implementing dialog via code (eg. state machines) is overkill. Even in the most complex scenarios all you need is the ability to invoke some animations and mayyyybe a script or two (for adding items, etc.). Unless you're doing something really niche (think Facade) that's all it takes.