Sign in to follow this  
ksmpal

Looking for a good free 3D animation/graphics library

ksmpal    136
Hello, all GameDev.net people!
A quick introduction of myself: I'm a university graduate with major in Electrical Engineering but took a shift in interest towards graphics programming in my later uni years. I have registered with GameDev.net 2 years ago and posted some questions but largely been absent since until recently. I have been working as a software engineer for almost 2 years now, constantly trying to improve my programming skills and hopefully working towards to become a skilled game programmer.

I'm currently in a project that requires me to source for a good, open source, free license 3D animation/graphics library. The main requirement is it has to work with Qt applications, which by extension means it has to be cross-platform.

I have googled a few of the popular ones and also tried out a few libraries, namely Havok Animation and Cal3D in Windows application using glut. I have also come across NVSG (Nivdia Scene Graph) and Ogre but have not used them yet. I also know the libraries I have mentioned are functionally different. Havok and Cal3D do not perform rendering at all but rather calculate animation results and passed the transformations to external renderer. I know NVSG and Ogre performs rendering but does it perform animation calculations?

The functions I would like from the desired library could be summarized as:

Load scene+animation file --> Generate scene data --> Perform animation calculation of scene for current frame --> perform skinning --> render animation at current frame --> loop to step 3 for next frame.