Sign in to follow this  
ShadowPryde

[HELP]: learning decision

ShadowPryde    100
I started learning C# and allready have Visual C# 2010 and XNA .

I've heared many different points and arguments regarding C++ vs. C# but i thought i'd stick with C#. I feel good with it.

Now to my point. I plan on heading into the direction of making a game (in the distant future maybe) that plays like Homeworld 2 and has the destruction physic's of something like star trek bridge commander.

It's not because i'm dreaming about the next big hit but because those 2 have rather interessting game mechanics that cover very much anything you'd have in every other 3D game in some way.
What i'm most interessted in are rather realistic destruction physics like in bridge commander. This is the goal. The point of this topic is the way going there.

I thought by having a goal it would give me an easier way of laying the way towards it.

So i started with C#..got a very good book on it. Over the course of learning it i want to make a calculator and expand it to have a proper UI...graph functions etc. Suppose this will give me a great deal of knowledge and can expand in any way i want.

What my question to you would be. What should i learn after i covered C# and XNA to go steady towards my goal.
Can anyone give me a step by step learning plan who has more insight in this whole stuff.
I just don't whant to get the wrong turn by choosing stuff to learn that wouldn't be usefull.

Postie    1559
I don't want to discourage you, but C# and XNA are not things you're likely to become an expert on in a short amount of time. They are both huge topics that will take a serious investment in time and practice to become really proficient in. If "in the distant future" (your words) you end up developing the homeworld 2 like game of your dreams in C# and XNA you'll still be learning new things in both until the last line of code is written.