Sign in to follow this  
Whorse

Modifying X Rotation According to Mouse

Hey there everyone, I'm quite new to linear algebra with regards to 3D games, as my prior work was all in 2D and need some pointers and advice. Side by side to reading up on some math textbooks, I've begun programming a small 3rd person space fighter game. At the moment I've begun using the C4 Engine and followed a tutorial. Everything is well and good, however I now need my ship to rotate with the camera. Here is some sample code to better illustrate my issue. I notice the CharacterOrientation function was used which takes an azimuth and rotates the ship on the Z axis. I was wondering how I could achieve a similar effect with the X rotation, and what the theory behind it is.

[code] float azm = modelAzimuth + TheInputMgr->GetMouseDeltaX();
if (azm < -K::pi) azm += K::two_pi;
else if (azm > K::pi) azm -= K::two_pi;

float alt = modelAltitude + TheInputMgr->GetMouseDeltaY();
if (alt < -1.45F) alt = -1.45F;
else if (alt > 1.45F) alt = 1.45F;

modelAzimuth = azm;
modelAltitude = alt;

Vector2D propel(0.0F, 0.0F);

long index = movementIndexTable[movementFlags & kMovementPlanarMask];
if (index < 8)
{
static const float movementDirectionTable[8] =
{
0.0F, 4.0F, 2.0F, -2.0F, 1.0F, -1.0F, 3.0F, -3.0F
};

float direction = movementDirectionTable[index] * K::pi_over_4 + modelAzimuth;

propel.x = Cos(direction) * 100.0F;
propel.y = Sin(direction) * 100.0F;

SetExternalForce(propel);
SetExternalDampening(Vector2D(10.0F, 10.0F));

// Change the Player's orientation based on horizontal mouse movement.

SetCharacterOrientation(modelAzimuth);[/code]

Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers!