• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
raven10011

DirextX 7 using VB - Help!

This topic is 2607 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello All!

I have recently started to learn how to use directx 7 using vb. The only reason for VB is because I use this a lot at work and does not require me to install additional software, and yes I know just how inefficient it is - I used to program in Delphi and C++. I am no professional game developer merely someone who would like to learn something new and interesting.

I managed to get as far as learning how to call the surface, optimise and draw several the vertices and rotate and move the camera so that I can "walk" around. As a next step I would like to be able to set a bitmap as the surface of some rectangles (like setting a surface for the floor rectangle). I have been looking around on different search engines and forums but can not seem to find how it is done.

I keep getting the feeling that is is something very straight forward but I can not find it.

Many thanks for any help with this matter.

Advertisement
You're going to have a hard time finding or getting help for DirectX 7 these days - any particular reason why you chose that version? Jumping to at least 9 is highly recommended (and has many more resources available for it).

This is an admirable task. It's simply not easy to write a graphical game in Visual Basic as say, C++ because of the fact that absolutely no one supports it anymore.
I wish you the best of luck in your tasks! May the force be with you.

Can't help you with DX7, sorry. But if you want to stick with something VB-like, why not give VB.NET and SlimDX a shot ? The Visual Studio Express Editions are free and SlimDX gives you access to DX 9 to 11 from any managed language.