• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
CodyShort

C++ Classes Question

This topic is 2606 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been coding on and off for about three years and I am making my first leap into graphics and games. I ran into a little problem with classes when I want to create an instance of a different class.
So for example I have class A and class B.

class A
{
}

class B
{
A instance;
}

How would I go about calling a constructor with parameters for instance? I hope you guys can understand what I am asking!
Thanks.
cb

Advertisement

class B
{
public:
B() : instance(... parameters...)
{
}

private:
A instance;
};

And you can add more initialization separated with commas:

class B
{
public:
B() : instance(... parameters...), anotherMember(15.0f)
{
}

private:
A instance;
float anotherMember;
};

And of course, it can be done in the CPP as you would normally do.
header file:

class B
{
public:
B();

private:
A instance;
float anotherMember;
};

cpp file:

B::B() :
instance(...),
anotherMember(15.0f)
{
}

I recommend using pointers to classes that are members, unless there is a restriction on doing such a thing (from a higher-up, from an API you're using that requires taking this class and accesses its members directly, etc).
Why? If you have a class C that derives from your class A and adds members, what then? The compiler has to perform some black-box magic, or make your code operate differently than you may expect by assuming no derived class is used. Neither is good, and may mean modifying dozens of sparse lines of code when it becomes an issue later on.

I recommend using pointers to classes that are members, unless there is a restriction on doing such a thing (from a higher-up, from an API you're using that requires taking this class and accesses its members directly, etc).