• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
destructivArts

Java for Gaming?

This topic is 2788 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First let me say Hello!
I've been hovering around the site for some time now, but this is my first post here.
Anyways, I'm actually an artist, not a programmer, but, due to the number of times I've tried making games, both with friends, and across the internet, I've decided to learn how to program, so I can work on my own to make small games. Don't worry, I'm not saying that I'm going to singlehandedly make a game that will replace WoW or Call of Duty. Right now I am working on learning Java. What I was wondering what is the best way to take my basic Java knowledge, and apply it to game programming, again, at a basic level, as up until now, all I have done is art.
Thank you,
Peter
--------------
Dailies: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Peter-Slattery-Dailies/122575981150562?ref=ts

Advertisement
First you will need to learn the fundamentals and actually understand them, don't go ahead of yourself because you will get lost. When you are confident with the fundamentals of the language then you can start adapting your style to suit what you want to be able to do, in your case games programming. This will probably involve graphics, do some research into libraries that suit the kind of game you want to make and then simply get Java to display a triangle. Then when you have that nailed you can start moving on to move complicated things such as 3D objects and getting input. Learning programming is not easy and at times it may seem very repetitive and boring but you have to follow through. Hope this helps :D