• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
LeightonLuckey

Radial Attack and Movement System

This topic is 2697 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I was wondering if you could point me in the direction of any games that use a radial based system for movement and attack. I've seen this used many times successfully in various analog games, and I've heard of a few digital games, but I was wondering why it is not seen more? What do you think are the draw backs and advantages to using either system?

If you don't know what I mean here is an example image from the GDD I'm writing. I'm no artist though. dry.gif
greatsword.jpg

Thank you! If you have any other questions feel free to ask.

Advertisement
The choice between grid or radial doesn't make much sense to me. In computer games very few modern RPGs are based on either, instead they allow for a more open world.

Many hack-and-slash RPGs use sword arcs like you describe, and either use arcs or rings around the player for magical effects. Diablo used them, as did a huge number of spin-offs from the game. Look at any of the spin-offs anywhere in the spectrum from Sacred to Hellgate :) and you'll see arcs and rings similar to what your pictures show.

I'm sorry, I left out key words there. I was specifically talking about a turn based strategy/tactical game, like Final Fantasy, Tactics Ogre, or the more recent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon.

Phantom Brave and Makai Kingdom are 2 RPG that used a similar system. It has some advantages for being closer to reality, but it suffers from many drawbacks like making it hard to create unit walls to protect weaker members and requiring fiddling whenever you cast some area of effect spell to make sure you include as many enemies as you can.