• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jamesleighe

SSE and performance (+compiler intrinsics)

This topic is 2783 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First of all, I'm pretty new to SSE etc. so that's something to keep in mind :)
Also, I'm using intrinsics for Microsoft Visual Studio.

Ok, so my question is why can't I get a speed boost from SSE here? (just a simple multiplication test) I tried a few things and I get the same results.
Does anyone know how I can use SSE to improve the speed of simple things like this and Vector maths? (this example is not vector math however)

On a positive note, I also included code (below the following code) that uses SSE to compute a square root far faster that using 'sqrtf'...

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
#define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
#include <Windows.h>
#include <intrin.h>

__declspec (align(16))
class Vector
{
public:
Vector () { }
Vector (float _x, float _y, float _z)
: x(_x), y(_y), z(_z)
{ }

float x, y, z;
float dummy[1]; // alignment
};

// non-geometric multiply
void Multiply (Vector& a, Vector& b, Vector& result)
{
// Example One (~5k cycles)
/*
__m128* pA = (__m128*)&a;
__m128* pB = (__m128*)&b;
__m128* pResult = (__m128*)&result;

*pResult = _mm_mul_ps (*pA, *pB);
*/

// Example Two (~5k cycles)
__m128 alA = _mm_load_ps ((float*)&a);
__m128 alB = _mm_load_ps ((float*)&b);

__m128 alResult = _mm_mul_ps (alA, alB);

_mm_store_ps ((float*)&result, alResult);
}

// non-geometric multiply (maybe slow)
void MultiplySlow (Vector& a, Vector& b, Vector& result)
{
result.x = a.x * b.x;
result.y = a.y * b.y;
result.z = a.z * b.z;
}

int main ()
{
__int64 sampleA;
__int64 sampleB;

Vector a(1.0f, 2.0f, 3.0f);
Vector b(1.0f, 2.0f, 3.0f);
Vector c;

// just in case setting up the vecs takes time
Sleep (100);

sampleA = __rdtsc ();
{
// ~5k cycles
Multiply (a, b, c);