• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
medis

rotation more times

This topic is 2608 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,
I'm new in 3D and i've got problem with rotation in SlimDX, Direct3D9, C#. I've got a cube and i rotate it (90 degree) with A key around x axle, S key around y axle and D key around z axle.
It works when i rotate the cube only around one axle(anyone), but after that i rotate around another axle it works strange. For example when i press A, it rotate around X axle 90 degree (good), then a press S, it rotate around Y axle 90 degree (good), then i press D, it rotate again Y around -90 degree (bad) and not around Z.
Here is my test:
(it need to be) -> (it was)

x y z -> x y -y
x z y -> x -y y
y x z -> y -z -y
y z x -> y x -z
z x y -> z x y
z y x -> z y -z

I've got a cube class with rotcubx, rotcuby, rotcubz attributes in degree.

I use them is world matrix with YawPitchRoll.

some codes:

if (e.KeyCode == Keys.A) {
rotcub[0] = 1;
rotcubanim[0] = 100;
}

In Render function

if (rotcub[0] == 1){
if (rotcubanim[0] == 0) {
rotcub[0] = 0;
}
else{
cube.setrotx(0.9f);
rotcubanim[0] = rotcubanim[0] - 1;
}
}

world = Matrix.RotationYawPitchRoll(cube.getroty() * rad, cube.getrotx() * rad, cube.getrotz() * rad) *
Matrix.Translation(cube.getpos());

In cube class:

public void setrotx(float x) {
rotcubx += x;
}

I can't understand why it work so strange, can anybody help me?
Sorry my english.

medis

Advertisement
If I'm understanding what you want correctly, you'll need to ditch Euler angles and use another method to handle the rotations.