• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
kaellinn18

Best Book For Experienced Programmer

This topic is 2589 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Everyone,

I'd like to get some opinions on what book (or other resource) would be best to start with when learning game programming. I'm a very experienced programmer (8 years in the field, BS in computer science, minor in math), so I don't need a book that starts out teaching me about strings and for loops. What I would really like, if such a book exists, is a book that teaches the fundamentals of building a game in a modern development environment to someone who already knows their way around a programming language. Do you guys have any recommendations? I don't really care if it's openGL or DirectX or whatever.

Thanks!

Advertisement
I would highly recommend the Game Programming Gems series. It's a great catalog of "in the trenches" techniques. Also, David Eberly has written several excellent books on game engine design.

I would highly recommend the Game Programming Gems series. It's a great catalog of "in the trenches" techniques. Also, David Eberly has written several excellent books on game engine design.

Thanks for the info! I will check those out.

The games programming gems series are very specific to individual cases since they are a collection of research(research-type) papers. Some of the topics covered in the older editions, especially in the general section, are tried and trusted concepts.
Basically I'm saying read the contents before you buy as they aint cheap and maybe too specific to solving specific problems.
Check out libraries, amazingly mine has a few of these. Also still have access to my old uni library as an alumni and they have almost all.

Eberlys books are worth a read to understands some concepts.