Where should I start?

Started by
10 comments, last by NightCreature83 12 years, 11 months ago
I have some programming experience in all of the languages above, but I was wondering which would really be the best for me to pursue in terms of game development. I don't care about learning curve at all. What I do care about are available libraries, resources, extendability, things like that. I would appreciate some answers on the poll as well as justifications for your answers with links, personal experience, etc, in a response.

Thank you!
-Zac
Advertisement
Almost all non-Xbox-Live-Arcade games written for the Consoles and PC are written in C++. If your interest is to become a professional game developer for a general game studio, then that's the one to learn.

If you have a desire to specifically write games for mobile or the web, then Flash and/or C# are good options. Also, if you just want to make games as a hobby, I'd recommend C#.

Don't waste your time on VB or java.
I definitely want to be a professional game developer, so I guess C++ would be the way to go at this point.
Well, i just "really" started with c# and XNA about 3 to 4 weeks ago. Although investing a lot of my time these weeks i got myself a 3D space environment where i can fly through with a 3th person orbital camera. I also have almost finished my isometric tile engine. I'd say thats pretty nice for just 4 weeks into programming. Yes i did do a calculator and a helo world tutorial here and there the passed year but that really doesn't count for much.

With XNA you can have very good results in a minimal time and start exploring and expanding your code, where using something like c++ without any libraries is going to take a while before real result shows. After finishing a game or 2 i bet i can easily pickup c++ language and start fiddling around with directX and all.