• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ajt420

I'm new, why do I have to use this forum?

This topic is 2779 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I know nothing about programming or video game development or whatever. I play a lot of video games, particularly online, fps, rpg, and combinations of the three. I'm also a writer and musician, and I have had way too many ideas about video games to not view it as a potential career path.

Anyway, I made this account to ask one question- How do you program places, objects, events, animations, and sounds from different video games together like a guitarist would mash up songs with similar chord progressions and melodies?

Is it possible to develop a program that would basically allow you to take the data from random video games and rearrange them; plot-wise, re-writing events based on what sound files and animations you have, and how funny your friends are? I mean, what if you could take a character you have in Oblivion, or Morrowind, or Counter-Strike, Fable, or whatever, and have a deathmatch, and then go outside into the starship troopers game, and you're in that one lone military installment in a sea of millions of huge bugs, only they're all domo-kuns, and the flying things are like 2d sprite fairies, and they all have brutal gory death animations when Ninja Gaiden chops them in half, and each time you kill one, out shoots some partially random number of points, like in some korean MMORPGs, and all the while a remix of the original Mario Starman theme is playing, and when it's all over, kirby, master chief, mario, and probably five guys from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 are all ranked in order of most to least points, and the winner gets cake. Or pie, depending on preference.

Let me rephrase that question;