• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
vibrunazo

Tips OOP architecture in Java?

This topic is 2780 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, long time lurker, first time poster here.

I started to make a game using Java to use with the Google Web Toolkit (compiles Java into javascript + html5). I have a reasonable experience with scripting on a few different game engines. But I'm a complete newbie to low level coding and I'm unexperienced in Java. So I'm stuck trying to decide how to organize the code to make it: efficient, easy to read, simple to maintain and scalable. I have a class called Game. From which will spawn several players, which will each perform several actions (run, attack, cast spell etc). I aim to have hundreds of players and hundreds of actions. So I'm worried about how to write a code that is scalable. So I can start with a few but easily add more. But I'm not sure which of these options would be a better design:

( a )
- The Game class should have a large number of methods with every possible player action. As well as all low level methods like drawing in the screen
- The players should have their own class, spawned from the Game class, this class will only have simple class variables like name, position, health etc. Simple geter and seter methods. But no methods with player actions.
- The Game class will handle all the actions, and will edit each Player object accordingly (ex.: change it's animation and position, if it should be running)

Pros: this seem the easiest thing to code for a newbie like me. This is the only option I actually know how to do :P