• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
crivens

2D movement based on direction and speed?

This topic is 2780 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm trying to move an object in 2D space in pygame. I'm using:

self._pos.x += self._speed * math.cos(self._angle*math.pi/180)
self._pos.y += self._speed * math.sin(self._angle*math.pi/180)

self._bb.center = (self._pos.x, self._pos.y)

But the movement seems to be off by approximately 90 degrees. Any ideas why? I'm stumped. Thanks

Advertisement
Is 0 degrees supposed to point straight up? Or is it supposed to point directly to the right?
I'm not very good at math, but I've found that some APIs have '0 degrees' be about 90 degrees off from what I was expecting/assuming.

Check if this is true for you and your API. Is your API thinking that 0 is to the right, while you are thinking it is pointing straight up?
Are your math functions making any assumptions as well?

Is 0 degrees supposed to point straight up? Or is it supposed to point directly to the right?
I'm not very good at math, but I've found that some APIs have '0 degrees' be about 90 degrees off from what I was expecting/assuming.

Check if this is true for you and your API. Is your API thinking that 0 is to the right, while you are thinking it is pointing straight up?
Are your math functions making any assumptions as well?

That's a good question, but I have no idea how to find that out. What part is the culprit? I mean, I'm only using cos/sin and PI. Otherwise I'm just adding the deltas for X/Y to the position. And then I'm rendering the object in pygame (0,0 is top/left of the screen, with positive X to the right and positive Y down to the bottom of the screen).

Thanks

Using the code you posted, a rotation of 0 degrees/radians should result in movement to the right, along the positive x axis.