• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lpcstr

Real time global illumination

This topic is 2593 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Forgive me if I sound ignorant (I am) as I am very new to graphics programming, but wouldn't SSAO with HDR Image Based Lighting produce realistic ambient lighting? I figure SSAO would handle occlusion and IBL could handle things like indirect lighting and color bleeding. Could you use dynamic environment maps to achieve this?

Advertisement
SSAO only handles very small-scale occlusion, and sometimes very poorly at that. Imagine standing in an alleyway between two large buildings: the area would be overall darkened due to the buildings but SSAO would only darken the creases where the buildings meet the ground. Capturing that large-scale occlusion is difficult and expensive if you want to do it all at runtime.

IBL is a broad term that encompasses a wide range of techniques that are based off a similar premise: using an image to light your scene. It doesn't intrinsically have any magic recipes for handling indirect lighting at runtime. With indirect lighting you basically start off with same problem you have with AO (you need large-scale visibility), compounded with the issues properly calculating the interreflected lighting terms. There's currently no silver-bullet solution for dealing with these issues...any solution that's not completely pre-baked will have significant limitations in terms of quality and/or performance.

Either way IBL, is definitely a great starting point for high-quality ambient lighting.