• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kaze

c++ directorys question

This topic is 2690 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have some programming experience but until now have been ignoring c++. I have tried both Microsoft visual c++ and code blocks but haven't use either long enough to have a preference.

First why do they both use virtual directorys? Even if I manually create directorys the IDE ignores them. Is their any way I can make it automatically match up virtual directory and namespace to the real directry structure like java, C# and actionscript do.

Secondly is their any tool to make adding 3'rd party libraries easier, like configuring a directory that that IDE automatically searches or library files to add.

Advertisement
Code::Blocks does use real directories.
VC uses virtual directories, called filter.

I guess you need Java style "directory as package" feature?
Then no in C++.
C++ only compiles what you need, so you need to manage the source code manually.

For third party libraries, unless they are quite small (only a few source code file), you should prefer compiled .lib files to source code.
Adding .lib files are quite easy in C::B and VC.

Thanks, I see how they work now.
I think I will use code blocks since it seems a lot simpler than visual c++.

Which one is simpler is quite personal opinion.

For me, VC is quite easier to debug, faster compiling, that's quite important to me.

So VC++ uses virtual directories and CB uses virtual directories unless you manually create them. What does virtual directories do other than making it a pain to move code to a new development environment.

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

We are the game development community.