• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kerubu

Real-Time Animation of a Pointer

This topic is 2770 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I'm new to animation etc but am attempting to create a crude simulation of a dial pointer moving over a scale, for example a car speed-o-meter, a rotary temperature gauge etc.

However I need the pointer to respond to real-time data and rotate smoothly from it's current position to the desired (commanded) position. It is also possible that the initial command signal may change before the pointer reaches the correct position and I would like my code to respond immediately to this change i.e. the pointer does not go to commanded position1 before attempting to get to commanded position2 but go straight to commanded position 2.

I'm not looking for any code for this but an algorithm or indication how I can achieve this 'instantaneous' response. This may seem like a 'homework' question but that is not the case.

As a bit of an outline I have thought along these lines;

1. There is a GUI thread that will be responsible for painting the pointer only.
2. I have a separate thread that acts as an 'summation' unit to produce an error signal i.e. a difference between actual and desired pointer position and calculates a series of pointer angles i.e. a new pointer angle per frame.
3. I thought about having a 3rd thread act as a frame scheduler i.e. it constantly checks for new pointer angles and dispatches them to the GUI thread at regular intervals (to ensure smooth animation).

The trouble with having 3 threads is that they do need to interact carefully with one another. Ideally I need to make it a closed loop system but I get confused when I think about all these threads!!

Anybody give me a few ideas or hints how I can achieve my aim?

Advertisement