Starting course in 3D game design, want to code on the side

Started by
3 comments, last by Tom Sloper 12 years, 11 months ago
Hello one and all, first post here.

Come September I'll be starting University doing a course in 3D game design. The focus is very much on the CG side (teaching you the ins and outs of Maya), which is definitely the area I want to focus on, the idea of coding for a living isn't something that has me jumping out of bed in the morning ;)
That said I was hoping to dabble in code while on the course, maybe in 3 years time when I graduate I'll be able to knock together a basic game (aka a portfolio that stands out), who knows.

So as you've probably guessed I'm a complete beginner.
Ideally I'd like to code for the PC, so I was hoping to get some advise with regards to what language to learn, which program to use, good places to get tutorials etc.

I'm sure this question gets asked a lot, so if all I get in response is 'UTFSE' I'll understand :P
Advertisement
If your going to spend three years at university working with Maya then you will almost certainly learn MEL (Maya Embedded Language). Now, I've not worked with MEL at all, but glancing at the code it looks very similar to C#, which is not a bad option for a beginner with your goals. So, I would recommend "Head First C#" by Stellman and Greene. I don't always like their approach, but they do walk you through writing several applications in Visual C#, including two simple games. It is not a reference manual like many other books and they don't assume that you already know some programming language (which is really annoying if you already have some experience).