What do I do next?

Started by
4 comments, last by mmakrzem 12 years, 10 months ago
Hello GameDev.net,

Sadly this is my first post ever here. I have been trolling around just clicking around here for awhile and well I figured its time to start talking to people about issues I am having in game design and where to go from here. Most the time when I have a problem I usually don't ask people for help mainly because of the pride thing as well as the occasional 'search google newb' attitude people have. Let me start off with a little about me first so you know the background.

I have been a gamer since I was a wee little tot. I remember skinning oldschool games, editting and creating maps, creating custom SC1 maps, working on various flash games and well dabbling in VB.net and some C++. I am no beginner to programming. I sadly though don't posess the knowledge of programming needed for creating intricate applications. I started off as a web programmer becoming fluent in php/asp/javascript(ajax/json)/MySQL. I started to dabble in some VB.net and made a leap to Python instead. I started to have some issues with Python mainly because my old knowledge from prior languages started to make me get confused. I tried to focus on the win32 aspect of Python development rather than a tornado server setup so I could try to differentiate Python from web. Unfortunatly I struggled and a friend reccomended I go to a strict language rather than a flexi which could be used in both worlds. He reccomended LUA as a scripting and to practice. I have become fluent in LUA and decided to make little games in World of Warcraft, card games, a few puzzle/sliding blocks, and a simple platformer which now crashes in the newest build of WoW. However it was all in LUA. I decided to reach out and try to learn some C++. I am struggling quite a bit but am not ready to give up yet.