My first Project attempt (C++ Need Help)

Started by
22 comments, last by xaviarrob 12 years, 10 months ago
So hi!

I'm new to the foum (registering anyway) and I need some help. I know this doesn't pertain strait to game programming but it is a programming problem.

I'm creating a calculator that calculates how much it costs when districts or schools increase their levies.
The problem is indicated where nPriceReduction starts.

//The purpose of this program is to show my community (and any if that) how inexpensive levy increases are.
//This will eventually become a windowed program.
#include <iostream>
#include <conio.h>

using namespace std;

int main(){
cout << "Please enter your house's market value" << endl;
int nY; // Market value of house
cin >> nY;
cout << "Please enter the number of mills" << endl;// For those unfamiler with mills, 1 mill = 1% increase.
int nZ;
cin >> nZ;
int nNumberOfMills = nZ;
int nTaxPercent = .35;
float nX = nY * nTaxPercent;//Takes the market value of house and multiplies it by the percent of the house you pay taxes on.
float nMill = .001;// 1% = 1 mill
float nMillCalc = nZ * nMill;//Multiplies the value of a mill by how many there are.
cout << "Are you getting a goverment price reduction?(true/false)" << endl;
//Having trouble with this section, I essentially want the user to type yes/no and for it to do the correct if statement apropriatly.
//When I execute this it always assumes the answer is false.
bool nPriceReduction;
cin >> nPriceReduction;
if (bool nPriceReduction = true){
cout << "Your proporty taxes cost for " << nZ << " mill(s) is {:content:}quot; << nMillCalc * nX * .875 << " per year or {:content:}quot; << ((nMillCalc * nX * .875) / 12) << " per month " << endl;

}else if (char nPriceReduction = false){
cout << "Your proporty taxes cost for " << nZ << " mill(s) is {:content:}quot; << nMillCalc * nX << " per year or {:content:}quot; << ((nMillCalc * nX) / 12) << " per month " << endl;}
getch();
return 0;
}
Advertisement