Open source game libraries

Started by
3 comments, last by metorsummoner7 12 years, 10 months ago
Hi, I'm a software developer looking to start working on games. I was hoping someone could point out some open source libraries to use. My only requirement is that it is multi-platform (linux and windows at least, mac support is a plus) and is a full library with sound, graphics rendering, basic image manipulation (rotations etc.), basic timer functions, can display text, has basic drawing functions (cricles, rectangles etc.) and multi-threading support. So far I've found one that looks good SFML http://www.sfml-dev.org but I figured you guys could show me a few more to try out and find one I like.
Advertisement
SFML is really good. I recommend you start with the (currently beta) 2.0 version, since that's about to be released and changes the API.

SDL is also good. Allegro is another option. Both SDL and Allegro have 'C' interfaces while SFML has a C++ interface.
I'd recommend trying both SFML and SDL, and finding out which you like best, or which offers the features that you most want.

I'm not a huge fan of Allegro, personally.
Thanks for the reccomendations, I'll play around with SDL too.