Sign in to follow this  
thedodgeruk

iterators are they as fast as pointers?

i have a manager class, with funtions , and it itereates through the entitys in my program

all calculations are done through the iterator , and funtion calls.

eg (*m_baseList_it)->m_time = 0;

would it be best to do

CBaseEntity* temp = (*m_baseList_it);
temp->m_time = 0;

for speed i mean

The only way to be sure would be to profile. I have a hunch (though it's just a hunch) that iterators are just as efficient as pointers...although I have no experience to back that up.

What I do have experience with is looking at the resulting assembly that get's spat out by the compiler...and seeing if it's doing a good job...which generally it is.

In both ways, you are using iterators and deferencing it to get your object pointer. The deference operation (*m_baseList_it) will probably takes some compute time (nanoseconds), so it's faster to do it only once if you use the object pointer multiple times. In you example, since you only change one variable, it's exactly the same.

I though your question would be about speed difference between list/iterator and array/pointers iteration.

Either should be fine. If you are doing multiple operations I like to hoist it to a reference for clarity:
[code]
for(container<smart_ptr<Foo>>::iterator i = foos.begin() ; i != foos.end() ; ++i)
{
Foo &foo = **i;

if(foo.isBar())
{
foo.frobnicate();
}
}
[/code]

Iterators [i]should [/i]compile down to the exact same assembly code as pointers.

Unfortunately, a certain popular compiler enables [url="http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa985896(v=vs.80).aspx"]iterator debugging[/url] for you by default, which makes them slow as hell unless you turn that feature off.

I suspect that the compiler is probably doing the Right Thing and producing the same output for both. Why not check the disassembly and find out?

[quote name='mhagain' timestamp='1306888367' post='4818097']