Sign in to follow this  

Need help on how to get started

This topic is 2389 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm an experienced PHP programmer and so I'm familiar with the basics of programming: loops, arrays, variables, objects, so on and so forth.
I have looked at the basics of java and it seems reasonable but I don't really have a reason to dive into using it (I still enjoy making web applications).
However I DO want to make an indie game like Final Fantasy Tactics and java's cross platform-ness is appealing.
Also with success of Minecraft it seems to me that those types of "block engines" could be useful for a TBS.
So where do I need to go next to take my java basics to java advanced stuff? Are there tutorials out there that hand hold taking the advanced steps? Or even a java block engine/TBS game?
Any constructive help would be appreciated.

I do c++ don't know much about Java but maybe you should do something more simple like space invaders or tetris. Im making a tile based game at the moment and its not the most simple type of game to make. You have problems like getting the render order correct which can be tricky, and pathfinding etc. I just googled java space invaders and looked like some pretty good tutorials to me.

I do c++ don't know much about Java but maybe you should do something more simple like space invaders or tetris. Im making a tile based game at the moment and its not the most simple type of game to make. You have problems like getting the render order correct which can be tricky, and pathfinding etc. I just googled java space invaders and looked like some pretty good tutorials to me.