Sign in to follow this  
bwhiting

Sphere Polygon Collision

Just implementing some sphere vs triangle collision detection (static at the moment) and its a very long winded process.

So had a thought...

Once the sphere has been projected onto the plane and an intersection is confirmed can you then do this...

project the sphere orthographically from 3 view points (front, left, and top relative to the plane) and then do 3 simple 2d line vs sphere intersections... (assuming one can get the projected radius easily,,, not sure how to do that but sure its possible, maybe someone can tell me)

Am sure it would work to confirm a collision or not and would work like SAT in terms of any separation would confirm no intersection.

If this much works do you think you can also generate a response.. or would that still need to be done the old fashioned way?

Just a though? What you guys think? possible? faster? slower?

:P cheers

I'm tired, but here's my take on it (and I have no experience with the field, and failed my last calculus class, so keep that in mind)

It sounds like you have an arbitrary 3 sided face oriented in 3 dimensions (ie three points, which conveniently define a plane) and a sphere somewhere, and you want to find out if the sphere intersects with this triangle. If that's not the case, skip the rest of this and clarify what you mean (a sphere is a 3 dimensional object, a triangle is 2 dimensional, and as such, any interaction between the two is a little awkward)

It seems to me like if you wanted to do this, you could just use <insert proper forumula> to calculate the normal vector to the sphere from the plane defined by the three vertices of the triangle. If the length of this vector is greater than the radius of the sphere, no collision is possible.