Sign in to follow this  
ianisnotagirl

On beginning a new project

ianisnotagirl    100
Hey there forum goers. I have questions.

It is my intent to begin creating my own game. My first actual game, to be more accurate. Im very new to all this and so, naturally, i have a lot of questions. The most important being, where do i start?
I have very little programming knowledge, having only ever made things in action script for Adobe Flash.

My goal was to make a 2d rpg and incorporate the elements of freedom and dynamic story telling found in more modern rpgs.

I began to learn C++ and quickly realized that it would be too overwhelming to use. When i started to look at more accessible alternatives, i ran into recommendation after recommendation for "gamemaker" and "rpgmaker".

Any word on how limiting using these programs would be?

Then a self proclaimed experienced programmer started talking to me about first building a game engine then creating content and i just became very confused. Could someone possibly explain this to me?

If all else fails i might have to look into finding myself a better programmer, but i would like to try my hand at doing some of it myself.

Tom Sloper    16062
[quote name='ianisnotagirl' timestamp='1307143966' post='4819258']
i ran into recommendation after recommendation for "gamemaker" and "rpgmaker".
Then a self proclaimed experienced programmer started talking to me about first building a game engine then creating content and i just became very confused. Could someone possibly explain this to me?[/quote]
Yes. On the one hand, a lot of people made you a good recommendation, and you were skeptical. Then on the other hand, one guy makes an opposing recommendation, and now you weren't skeptical anymore -- now you were just confused. The explanation is that you are easily swayed by a smooth talker, yet not at all swayed by people who say things you don't want to hear.