Sign in to follow this  
Kealthes

OpenGL Using 3ds Max and OpenGL

Kealthes    96
Heey guys,

I am kinda new to graphics and game programming and my question is pretty simple. We need to make a 3d model of our school and decided to make use of opengl and 3ds max. But is it possible to use 3ds max models in opengl? Can it be done with the help of Maxscript, in that case I am prepared to learn maxscript. How do professional game developers do that?
I know this question has been asked in previous topics, but these are all outdated and the answers are not very straight to the point. That's why I am asking again.

Thanks for your help.

Kealthes    96
I know 3ds max can export to several different formats, but how are these to be used with opengl? I don't think opengl can open any of these files (or can it?). That's why I was wondering what the use of maxscript was in all of this.

BitMaster    8651
OpenGL is a rendering API. A rendering API does not deal with specific file formats, that would be task of a game engine, a scene manager or an utility library. There should be plenty of loaders out there which can load 3ds files to produce information that can be sent to OpenGL. Alternatively, Maxscript could be used to write custom mesh information which could be loaded by the program without implementing a complete 3ds loader or linking a library to do that job.

BitMaster    8651
[quote name='Kealthes' timestamp='1307374391' post='4820111']
So, would you recommend Maxscript then?
[/quote]