• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Schwartz86

OpenGL Shifting pixels in a drawn display

This topic is 2565 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I am relatively new to using OpenGL and am needing a bit of guidance.

I am working on a project that draws a 'display' using opengl. However, the coordinate system all the drawing routines use is setup such that instead of going from (0,0) to (x,y) it goes from (-x/2, -y/2) to (x/2, y/2). Another (proprietary) library I am using allows be to use openGL to draw "overlays", however, its coordinate system uses 0,0 to x,y.

So essentially, I am wanting to draw everything to the screen and then "shift" it to the coordinate system that other library expects. I hope this makes sense...

All I really need is a routine that would allow me to shift all the pixels that have just been drawn by an x and y offset. Otherwise, I will have to change all the old drawing routines which will be messy and daunting.

Thanks

Advertisement
Not real sure this is what you're looking for but try translating by -x/2, -y/2 right before drawing anything from the proprietary library. So something like:

glLoadIdentity();
glTranslatef(-x/2, -y/2, 0);
//Now draw stuff from proprietary library

This essentially makes the upper left hand corner (0,0) for the drawing that is to come

Not real sure this is what you're looking for but try translating by -x/2, -y/2 right before drawing anything from the proprietary library. So something like:

glLoadIdentity();
glTranslatef(-x/2, -y/2, 0);
//Now draw stuff from proprietary library

This essentially makes the upper left hand corner (0,0) for the drawing that is to come