Sign in to follow this  
SelethD

How exit a TCPListener.Accept thread?

Im a bit new to this whole networking, and threading thing. So this may seem simple question, but I have searched google all day and I cant find a clear answer:

This is in Visual C# 2010
I am making a server
I have my main loop create a thread for listening and accepting clients...

[code]
private static void ListenThread()
{
Console.WriteLine("Server started... waiting for clients.");
while (bKeepAlive)
{
TcpClient client = ls.AcceptTcpClient();

cCharacter Character = new cCharacter();
Character.mClient = client;
Console.WriteLine("Client Connected: " + client.Client.RemoteEndPoint.ToString());

if (!gCharacterManager.AddCharacter(Character))
{
Character.Disconnect();
Console.WriteLine("Client disconnected, server is at full capacity.");
}
}
}
[/code]

The problem is... when the main loop needs to shut down the server, how do I properly get out of this tread?
If I set bKeepAlive = false; The thread wont exit since it will be stuck at the ls.AcceptTCPClient(); statment.
So I tried to have the main loop abort the thread with ... [font="Consolas"][size="2"][font="Consolas"][size="2"]tListenThread.Abort(); however this caused the following error...
"A blocking operation was interrupted by a call to WSACancelBlockingCall"
The debugger highlights my "[color="#2b91af"]TcpClient[/color][font="Consolas"][size="2"][font="Consolas"][size="2"] client = ls.AcceptTcpClient();" line as the source of this error
But the error doesnt happen every time I close the server?

So is there a proper way I am supposed to end this thread when the server exits?

Thankyou.

[/size][/font][/size][/font][/size][/font][/size][/font]

[quote name='SelethD' timestamp='1307718258' post='4821733']
So I tried to have the main loop abort the thread with ... [font="Consolas"][size="2"][font="Consolas"][size="2"]tListenThread.Abort(); however this caused the following error...