Sign in to follow this  

Which should I...?

This topic is 2346 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

What coding language should I learn first?

I'm fairly new to coding (and this forum) and only know a tiny bit about it.
I know there are lots of languages like Python, C++, Jave...etc. but which ones are the best to start with?
Also which language would be most beneficial for making games? (Prefferably portable handheld games on devices like the iPhone for instance)

Just some additional information I don't have any type of Mac or anything but I will hopefully be getting a MacBook in the next month or so.

Thanks for any help :D

[quote name='landlocked' timestamp='1310412430' post='4833925']
C#

or Java, if you're the bastard demon spawn of Satan :cool: I kid I kid haha
[/quote]

Is there any particular reason to do C# first, or is it just generally a good place to start?

[quote name='codegas' timestamp='1310412761' post='4833931']

Is there any particular reason to do C# first, or is it just generally a good place to start?
[/quote]
"C# is good for the same reasons Java is good (simplicity and safety with the core concepts being pretty consistent with many other languages). It is great because Microsoft has done a great job of supporting it's knowledge base with tutorials through it's XNA community site. That would be my biggest selling point if I were to start now. There are tons of great user and M$ made tutorials that are pretty phenomenal.

I would recommend you on C# if you want a little bit of a "softer" start. However, if you wish on going hardcore straight away, go for C++.

That's just my opinion :wink: