Sign in to follow this  
zasdarq

OpenGL Display slowdowns without framerate slowdown [Solved?]

Hello everyone,

I've had a bizarre problem plaguing me. My project uses SDL with OpenGL. I'm relatively new with OpenGL so the more detailed inner workings are still a little fuzzy so I apologize in advance for any of my ignorance.

While the game is running, I get severe slowdowns for what appears to be just the display. The mouse icon will stick in place, or moving objects will stop moving, but the code is chugging along just fine. The mouse position / object positions are being correctly updated (checked via print lines) without any slowdown, and they are apparently going through their rendering code without any errors, yet they don't update in the display itself.

Even more strangely, this problem can be "fixed" by either no longer displaying one or two textures (randomly chosen), or by arbitrarily rendering a couple additional plain triangles. Also, not clearing the Depth / Color / Stencil buffer every frame will solve the problem (It's a 2D project and I'm not relying on the depth buffer to order things)The problem occurs only on this computer. The project runs fine on my laptop and another desktop... both of which are much older than this one.I'm using SDL 1.2.x with OpenGL 3.x (though using only pre 3.0 OpenGL), Windows 7 and an ATI HD4800.

The erratic nature of the problem leads me to believe that it's sloppy code leading to undefined behaviour (bad data, overwritten memory, etc.) but I thought throwing it out to the forums might still be helpful. Given the size of the project it's hard for me to supply useful code examples, but I'll do my best to supply any additional helpful information on demand. So I apologize all around for the vagueness of this post.

Thanks for reading.

Small update: The problem also does not occur in fullscreen mode... only in windowed. I've been told OpenGL can be so unreliable in windowed mode you shouldn't even bother?