Sign in to follow this  
Betastate

DirectX SDK strange bug

Hi , I'm quite new to C++ , but I decided to start ZophusX's DirectX tutorials >> http://zophusx.byethost11.com/main.php . I am more or less following , but I am now stuck at tutorial 8 where the "d3dx9.h" is introduced. For some reason it yelds a "fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file "d3dx9.h". I have installed the latest DirectX SDK from the Microsoft website (June 2010) , and I believe it is properly configured for my Visual Studio 2008. It does read the "d3d9.h" file and everything complies ok , just for some reason fails to open the other library.

Please help me resolve this as I was just becoming quite exited about drawing objects in actual 3d space when I failed to run the code :(

Make sure you added [source "c++"]#pragma comment(lib, "d3dx9.lib") [/source] after your other #include's.

I also add d3dx9.lib to the project's dependencies. I don't know other IDE's, but if you're using VisualStudio, you right-click the project name in the Solution Explorer and open Properties. Under Linker > Input, just add that file name to Additional Dependencies.

Still being fairly new I don't understand all of this fully, but I think the two things I suggested are redundant. I'm just in the habit of doing both from past projects, and it doesn't seem to have had any negative effects.

Edit: Another problem I ran into early was in setting up the includes in the VS options, for the lib I gave the path to the SDK/lib folder, but did not specify x64 or x86. After some linkage problems, I pointed it to the inner folder of x86 which fixed it, because it did not automatically search subfolders.

I have indeed included it properly as the other one , this is the code :

[attachment=4168:Library Error.jpg]

And these are the folders that are included:

[attachment=4169:Library Error2.png]