Sign in to follow this  

How to make a game like World of Warcraft?

This topic is 2343 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

My friend and I have been playing a game called World of Warcraft for a couple months, and it has inspired us to make a game like it. We have a lot of ideas that we think would be a great improvement over the standard WoW game, and so we think that it is a good idea to just make one ourselves. We know it probably won't be as popular as WoW, even though it has better content, but we think we could probably get a few thousand players if we make it cheaper than WoW? Like, just charging a person for the game once and not a monthly fee. We don't have much to do this summer, and are looking to get a lot of it done so we can show the beta version to our friends when school starts again. So how do we go about this? Thanks!

The first thing you will need is a degree in computer science from a good university. Without that, you will not succeed.

World of Warcraft is so complicated that it required more than one person with a degree.

[quote name='shadowisadog' timestamp='1310840693' post='4836077']
[quote name='Ecofina' timestamp='1310839778' post='4836071']
Please help we really want to do this!
[/quote]
3. Sit there and actually read how many names are on the screen.
[/quote]

I know that World of Warcraft has a lot of people working on it, but like I said, our game isn't going to be as [i]big[/i] as WoW, just better features and gameplay, and as far as the money for making this game goes, isn't a lot of it for servers and stuff like that? Again, we only expect a few thousand people, so we could probably get a really small server for a lot cheaper, and even run it on our computers in its early stages (alpha, beta, etc.). :cool: