[C++] (Scanner/Lexer) / Parser

Started by
6 comments, last by hughiecoles 12 years, 8 months ago
I'm familiar with C++, but I admit I'm no pro. I didn't know whether to put this in 'Game Programming' part of the forum or here, but seeing I'm not dealing with things exactly for games, I figured I'd put it here.
I'm relatively new to the whole lexer-parser concept and its uses, but I became quite interested in exactly what sorts of things it can do after stumbling upon a shoot-em-up maker called "Danmakufu".
I've managed to get my eyes on the source-code of this engine, and a part of it consists of a lexer/parser. Anyway, to the meat of my question....
How exactly does this thing work? I understand how to use it, but the inner-workings of this engine proved to be quite difficult for me to put together. And I'm only new to this concept to begin with, so it makes it that much more difficult for me to understand.

Attached is the source code to the script engine I've asked from the author, who sadly can't explain how it works to me in detail in English.
The script engine is a part of the game engine he made (which is free). The idea is, it's a shmup-maker. The whole thing uses DirectX to animate and sound, and the resources are images/sounds provided by the person making the game. The whole thing uses a text document to make sense of these images/sounds to animate the game in almost any way one can imagine.

It uses a C-like language to make sense of everything. However, there are a few differences, such as the way it holds data. The keyword "let", for example, provides the respective variable the capacity of holding an integer, character, string, or a directory (within the engine, of course, since the text document is simply one, long string of characters).
Anyway, I need help deciphering this engine. One thing I'd really like to know in this engine is the use of microthreads/tasks and the use of yield, which I believe to be extremely useful in part of its design.