• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tgashby

OpenGL Texture coords aren't what they should be, what am I doing wrong?

This topic is 2552 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone,

I am by no means any sort of expert on OpenGL, I just started learning it recently and I've run into a little issue.
I am trying to draw only portions of a texture that is loaded in.

After some research I've come to use glScale() which seems to be the way to do what I want, but I am not getting the right texture section.
Here's a short code snippet:
void Texture::drawSection(GLfloat xPos, GLfloat yPos, int sectX, int sectY, int sectWidth, int sectHeight)
{
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

glMatrixMode(GL_TEXTURE);

glLoadIdentity();

glScalef(1/(GLfloat)width, 1/(GLfloat)height, 1); // "width" is the width of the entire texture
// "height" is the height of the entire texture

glPushMatrix();

glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture);

glBegin(GL_QUADS);

glTexCoord2f((GLfloat)sectX, (GLfloat)sectY); // sectX and sectY are the top-left corner points
glVertex2f(xPos, yPos);

glTexCoord2f((GLfloat)sectWidth, (GLfloat)sectY); // sectWidth is the width of the individual section
glVertex2f(xPos + sectWidth, yPos);

glTexCoord2f((GLfloat)sectWidth, (GLfloat)sectHeight); // sectHeight is the height of the individual section
glVertex2f(xPos + sectWidth, yPos + sectHeight);

glTexCoord2f((GLfloat)sectX, (GLfloat)sectHeight);
glVertex2f(xPos, yPos + sectHeight);

glEnd();

glPopMatrix();
}

This works if I start the texture section at the top-left corner of the whole texture and choose any section branching off of that.

Forgive me if the answer is obvious... OGL is still a bit of a mystery.

Thanks!
~Tag

Advertisement