• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
torunefu

Where to start?

This topic is 2552 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey , im new to the game development community and i want to start creating a game. Just a simple rpg game where you can walk around , fight monsters with a click and interact with npcs. I dont know where to start from as there are so many topics in C++ , i dont know which one does game progamming need. Im just a beginner so i need a website which provides a tutorial from basic to expert on game programming. Well , so first of all what programmes do i need and where do i start? What should i learn first and how i should carry on from there?
ThANKS!

Advertisement
Sorry to disappoint but, there is no tutorial which takes you from knowing nothing to being an expert. After all, how do you determine if you are an expert? Anyway, these things take time and a lot of practice. You have to start from the ground up, from building console applications and learning the language, fairly well. Only then, it is advised to go on to learning to create graphical applications. Why do you want to use C++? As many will agree, C# is a lot easier to learn. And you can use XNA to get up and started really quickly.
Anyway, best of luck.

I've been working on a mega post to answer this and many other new developer questions that continue to reoccur ( of course, it's 100% my opinion ). I know GameDev has it's own FAQ but frankly I like mine a whole lot better.

Still a WIP at the moment, as I need to finish up the C# and Java sections, but it should be a help to new developers trying to find their way.

So you want to be a game developer... now what?

Let me know what you think. Once I finish each langauge section I will split each out to its own post, for more... speedy reading for people interested in a specific language.