Sign in to follow this  
Jarwulf

visual studio 2010 worth it?

Jarwulf    223
Hi, I thought since its been out for awhile I'd like to ask what people think of VS2010. Is it worth an upgrade from vs2008? I'm concerned about what looks like higher system resource use/instability and wonder whether what they've added would be worth that price. I've been programming for a few years but I wouldn't consider myself any expert or power user.

Erik Rufelt    5901
I like it better, though I only use the free express version. I definitely recommend downloading it and trying it out.
[url="http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/en-us/products/2010-editions/express"]http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/en-us/products/2010-editions/express[/url]

NightCreature83    5002
[quote name='Jarwulf' timestamp='1312478124' post='4844572']
Hi, I thought since its been out for awhile I'd like to ask what people think of VS2010. Is it worth an upgrade from vs2008? I'm concerned about what looks like higher system resource use/instability and wonder whether what they've added would be worth that price. I've been programming for a few years but I wouldn't consider myself any expert or power user.
[/quote]

It depends a little bit what you want to get it for, they did unify all the build systems so there is no longer a different one for C++ and the .NET languages. It supports multimonitors properly now, which is a pain in VS2008 at the moment.

If you are a C++ coder it now supports inline function compiling, so you get squiggly lines like in C#, support for some C++0x features.

EJH    315
Unless you need 64-bit compilation, the Express versions are free. So I'd say yeah, totally worth it. ;)

speciesUnknown    527
Lets look at the new features.

c++ intellisense is better.
Incremental update in supported .net versions.

Is that it? I seem to have missed a few things here.