Sign in to follow this  

Quad Tree Help - 2d game

This topic is 2322 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've tried to bold the key points so you can skim this.
[b]
[/b]I working on making a [b]2d, fast paced side-scroller/ platformer.[/b] I'm relatively new to game development and I'm just getting to the collision detection of the game. I've decided to [b]use a quad tree[/b] [b]to reduce the number of collision checks and for drawing the onscreen world[/b](enemies, projectiles and platforms/ground). After a day or two of reading and looking up articles on quad trees I have a basic understanding of how they work and how they can be used but I'm seriously stuck on implementing my own. I've tried looking at sample code but its still hard to tell.

[b]My understanding of a quad tree:[/b]
You have tree nodes each has pointers for its 4 children and parent. If one doesn't have a parent (pointer is NULL) its the root and if it doesn't have children its the lowest level of (leaf/node?).
Each node also has a list of objects that are in its quadrant.
You only check the collision of an object with its current and nearby quadrants.
I also realize that moving and non-moving objects will generally be in 2 different trees

[b]Questions:[/b]
1. What type of list is used for each tree node for the list of game objects?
2. For moving objects how exactly do you update the tree? do you have to go through the list of moving objects and set the tree again?
3. If you have n different trees how do you get to the same node on each tree? (if I'm correct that you use different trees for different types of game objects)
4. How do I decide how far to keep subdividing?