Sign in to follow this  
YasinKhalil

UDP Multiplayer with SDL_net

YasinKhalil    224
Hello, this is my first time posting in these forums. I have been developing a game for several months now. I wanted to implement SDL_net into my code because my entire game engine uses SDL and many of the other addons (SDL_ttf/mixer/image..etc.) I have been coding the Multiplayer aspect of my game(2d side scroller). My experience with c++ is between 5-6 years so i have an understanding of the language. I'm using UDP for my game. The problem I'm having with SDL_net is that there are like no tutorials or examples on the net, which is very frustrating for someone trying to learn how to use it ( I have spent countless hours and days working on this without any help until now, i have used the faqs on this forum as well as the search bar where i searched through countless posts (dating back up to 4 years ago) about SDL_net where i saw a few people with my same problem but it looked like no one wanted to help them...) I am not asking to be spoon fed because i know thats not the right way and im a hard headed a@#hole who likes to learn by countless hours of trial and error. however, i just need a few hints on how to proceed. Ok, so now i will explain what I'm trying to freaken do lol:

tl;dr -> my client sends a packet with a "connecting" string to server, server reads packet and determines if there are available slots then server sends a string back to the client with "FULL" if
there are no slots left or a number if there are available slots to use as the clients ID. now my problem lies with sending packets from the server to the client.
for some reason i cant figure out how to send data to the client from the server.

On the server side i have tried to use these functions

[code]
IPaddress *address;
int chan;
address = SDLNet_UDP_GetPeerAddress(udpSocket, -1);

followed by the chan = SDLNet_UDP_Bind(udpSocket, -1, IPaddress *address);