Sign in to follow this  
RojanShrestha

DirectX or A Game Engine?

RojanShrestha    124
[font=verdana, geneva, lucida,]Ok!! so I finally switched to c++ from c# and I'm comfortable with all the OOP techniques in c++. Now, I was wondering if I should learn DirectX 11 (since I have a DX11 supporting hardware) or should I go for a game engine that has already been built. I want to build a good portfolio so that I can enter the game industry but I have no idea which one will be better suited. Also, I have got some experience with Managed DirectX in c# but did not end up making any games with it.[/font]

mmakrzem    1036
[quote name='newbie_gamer' timestamp='1312907819' post='4846762']
[font="verdana, geneva, lucida,"]Ok!! so I finally switched to c++ from c# and I'm comfortable with all the OOP techniques in c++. Now, I was wondering if I should learn DirectX 11 (since I have a DX11 supporting hardware) or should I go for a game engine that has already been built. I want to build a good portfolio so that I can enter the game industry but I have no idea which one will be better suited. Also, I have got some experience with Managed DirectX in c# but did not end up making any games with it.[/font]
[/quote]

since you haven't made any games yourself yet, you'll find it easier and quicker to develop something to put into a portfolio if you use a game engine like Unity rather than building one yourself from scratch.

NightCreature83    5002
That depends what role you want on the team, if you like game play more I'd say go with a game engine and write some games that have some really cool mechanics. If you want a graphics/system position engine design and optimisation techniques as well as graphics knowledge become more important.

Pick something you like to do and then make a demo with it, if you are not interested in a systems job I would pick a game engine and write something awesome in the field you want to be in.

JosephParrilla    171