Sign in to follow this  
nsnt

Can someone help me with tileset dimension

Hello everyone, I am really a beginner (I mostly learn programming and design by self-taught only as a hobby) so your understanding is much appreciated.

I am currently trying to make some sort of RPG-platformer game.

The main character image I am currently using is 70x100 pixels. I think it is rather big compared to other games? But I use 70x100 because it looks nice, so that the player can clearly see the action of the character since it is an RPG, not just a platformer (examples of what the main character would do: swing swords or other melee weapons, shoot arrows).

But the question I arrived at now is, what tile dimension should I use, considering the image size of the characters in the game is about 70x100. Standard tilesets I encounter surfing the web is 64x64, but it seems to be too small, the repetitiveness of the tileset would be seen because the maps I am making involve much greater dimensions. So I tried to make my own 128x128. It looks much better. At least quite as I expect how the game would look like. But sometimes, it feels rather big [img]http://public.gamedev.net/public/style_emoticons/default/huh.gif[/img]

So I'm wondering what you guys would recommend. Why is it that 128x128 does not seem to be a standard dimension? Or is it standard? And why do tilesets have standards in the first place, like 16x16, 32x32, 64x64? Or is 50x50 just as fine? And is there a simple guideline to determine what tileset dimension I should use if, for example, my character size is 'x' pixels by width and 'y' pixels by height? Because how I determine 128x128 is better than 64x64 is just by feelings, so although I'm pretty sure 128x128 is better than 64x64 for my game, I'm not sure if 128x128 is the best.

I look forward to hear from you guys who have more experience in this. Thank you for your help [img]http://public.gamedev.net/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif[/img]