Good C/C++ Tools For A Beginner?

Started by
5 comments, last by Serapth 12 years, 8 months ago
Hey guys,

I'm a relatively experienced coder, familiar with all the basics including OOP. I've been coding in Actionscript 3.0 off and on for about 2 years now and I feel its time to make the jump to C/C++. I was just wondering what tools you'd recommend for someone just getting started.

I'd prefer to have an editor with automatic code completion, that can automatically check for basic errors in the syntax/code, and can interpret/compile the program. Pretty basic stuff. I'd also prefer to be free, since I'm not doing anything serious just yet.

Any ideas what I should go with?
Advertisement
Visual studio has a free version that is probably the best thing you'll find in windows, and has a large userbase (read: help via online searches)
Yeah I agree with the post above, you should get Visual Studio as your IDE seeing how it is largely popular. Also, don't jump straight into the game development, C/C++ is a bit complicated at times, but you'll get used to it. Glad you decided you'd jump into a lower level though :] Best wishes.
Telastyn, thank you for the speedy reply. I'll check it out!
Another vote for Visual Studio. There are other good free (and Free) alternatives, but VC++ Express will cost you nothing but the time spent downloading and installing it, so it's worth a try. And - and I know I have harped on about this before, but... - Microsoft really do have the flat-out best debugging tools available, and these are absolutely of critical importance when you start doing non-trivial C/C++ programs. A good debugger is a vital part of your tool set, and they really don't come any better.

Direct3D has need of instancing, but we do not. We have plenty of glVertexAttrib calls.

i don't see why u wont learn c#, except if you are leaning towards nds dev